- How Do I...
- Sign Up For
- Offender Registration
If you have been convicted or adjudicated of a crime that requires registration under the Kansas Offender Registration Act, K.S.A. 22-4901., you are required to register 4 times a year.
- Your birth month and every 3 months after
- January, April, July & October
- February, May, August & November
- March, June, September & December
Kansas State Statute K.S.A. 22-4905 says: you have 3 days to notify the Riley County Police Department of any change such as:
- Telephone Number
- New Vehicle/Sale of Vehicle
If you provide false information or if you fail to:
- Complete initial or monthly registration
- Pay the $20 registration fee
- Update any new information within 3 days
You are violating the requirements of the Act which is considered a person felony and you can be arrested and have your time expanded.
- What are the Failure to Comply Penalties?
- 1st Conviction- Level 6 Person Felony
- 2nd Conviction- Level 5 Person Felony
- 3rd Conviction- Level 3 Person Felony
- Aggravated Violation- Level 3 Person Felony
- Failure to Pay $20 Registration Fee within 15 Days- Class A Misdemeanor
- Failure to Pay $20 Registration Fee after 15 Days- Level 9 Person Felony
Note: A new and separate offense of noncompliance will occur every 30 days that have elapsed until you regain compliance. This will also add on time to your end registration date set forth by the Kansas Bureau of Investigations.
Note: If a sex offender fails to report a change in residence, employment, or student status and travels in or moves across state lines, the offender can be charged with a federal crime.
Note: If you are living/staying at any residence for three 3 consecutive days or more, or a total of ten (10) days in a month you are required to report that address.
Note: Any vehicle you are driving must be reported.
Note: If you are confined for three (3) days or more you must update your registration as soon as you are released.
- What if I Leave the Area?
If you will be leaving the Riley County/Manhattan area for more than 3 consecutive days you must come into the police department to sign out.
You will need to provide us with:
• Address of Where You’re Going
• Date of Return
If you are leaving the Riley County/ Manhattan area permanently, you must come to the police department in person to sign out.
You will need to provide us with:
• Address of New Residence
Note: We will contact the law enforcement agency for the area you are moving to and notify them that you reside in their county (regardless of the state). If it is in Kansas, you will have 3 business days to register with that county before you are considered non-compliant.
- What if I'm a Transient Individual?
If you are a transient individual, you will need to come in person to the Riley County Police Department every 4 business days to check in. You must call Shanon Ascher every night to let her know where you plan to sleep. Even if nothing has changed, as long as you are without a residence, the RCPD needs to know your whereabouts.
When you come to the department you must provide:
• Locations you have slept or frequented
• Locations you intend to sleep or frequent
If you fail to report this required information every 4 business days, you may be charged with violating the Kansas Offender Registration Act. Per Statute (K.S.A. 22-4905 (e)), if you are transient, you must report in person to the registering law enforcement agency of such county or location of jurisdiction in which you are physically present within 3 business days of arrival in the county or location of jurisdiction. You are required to register in person with the registering law enforcement agency every 30 days, or more often at the discretion of the registering law enforcement agency, and provide a list of places where you have slept and otherwise frequented during the period of time since the last date of registration and provide a list of places where you may be contacted and where you intend to sleep and otherwise frequent during the period of time prior to the next required date of registration.
- Do I Have to Register If My Record is Expunged?
Even if your record is expunged, you must register until your designated end date (K.S.A. 22-4909 (e)).
Probation and registering as an offender at the local police department are different. You may be released from probation but will still be required to register.
- When Can I Reigster?
You must register in person at the Riley County Police Department located at 1001 S. Seth Child Road in Manhattan, Kansas. Registration is available Monday-Friday between 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
For all Other Information Contact:
The Kansas Bureau of Investigation (KBI)
(785) 296-2841 or